A Young Gun In The 2016 Elections

For the first time in my generation,

Millennials are graced with an election with strong Presidentiables. In the next few hours, there will be an uprising of two more leaders worth voting. Believe me.

Therefore, I am decided on voting for the first time. As it turns out, we are in the last few days to register via #NoBioNoBoto. If you live in Pasig, tomorrow (on a Sunday! How convenient! I must underscore how dynamic COMELEC is becoming. Chairman Andres Bautista!) biometrics satellite registration on Garnet Road cor. Onyx near Asian Devt Bank! Last minute I’ll be making time to line up by 7am. Come with me!

I am in no way affiliated with comelec – I am also not running for office – but if you have known me since gradeschool you have heard me, even then, stress on my belief in the twin factors, our generation (sorry Gen X) and our nation.

The Chairman has always noted that out of the estimated 54 million voters in 2016, at least 20 million are the youth. By mere population alone, young people could possibly impact election results. The number is more than any other organization out there. Don’t we all notice the unfortunate incompetence among most elected officials? The magic was also in the people who voted for them. In the first place.

Day in and day out, it seems as though voters and non-voters are bigger factors than corrupt political ‘fixers’ and financial backers. It’s no secret that most candidates were and will still try to be elected via power, and bloc voting garnered by money. If YOU AND I actually vote – while being mindful and conscentious of our selected candidates – we are the majority, you are the majority, and your vote will count. We get to be the nation’s greatest political equalizer in history. We are then to have sound Philippine elections. No more non sense! Mukha yatang wala ng dayaan unless kabataan na din ang mang daya or technolohiya ang dayain. Still, we have to choose to vote first.

Believe me, for breakfast lunch and dinner I am aware of all the other political factors so no more debates ha, but now we deal with less factors than the usual. Let that sink in first. Progress! This is our chance to fight paid votes. This is our window. A slim chance to impact a long-standing phenomenon that dates back to the times of not only Gen X, but Gen Luna!

It’s your choice if you want to make time and vote! Millennials, the future has arrived; now the ball’s in our court

3 thoughts on “A Young Gun In The 2016 Elections

  1. I couldn’t agree more! We should not be blinded by the words of the presidentiables alone, but actions with regard to inclusive growth of the Philippine economy as to it is one of the solutions to the major problems of our country.

  2. I attended Darlene’s talk in Philippine Science High School, and just like before, I enjoyed listening to her sentiments. Voting is indeed something very crucial and no laughing matter. The fate of the entire Philippines is in OUR hands. We keep asking for change yet we seem to make the wrong choices, and it’s primarily cause of these things that hold us back from actually choosing the right way to go. We always have a choice, and the time to make it is now.

    Believe your voice can mean something. This is our chance; we can’t mess it up.

Leave a comment