Kindness Is A Universal Language

33B9BA5A-6E2A-46DB-B940-48C09C042FA0

Why is traveling important?

Traveling adds much to a person. In fact, I find that the most interesting people are those who are well-traveled.

Why?

First, you meet different kinds of people and these people leave a little piece of them with you—even if you have only met them once. Somehow and in some way, they become a part of your journey, be it through a lesson, a feeling, or a new way of thinking.

I could never take credit for the ideas I have. I feel I am the sum of everybody I have ever met. I have spun their way of thinking and accepted it, making me the person I am today.

Second, it keeps you humble. Being caught up in your own surroundings is the fastest way to be full of yourself. It is humbling to be reminded of the fact that there is a whole world out there bigger than our own, making our day to day problems look smaller in comparison.

Third, I have learned from experience that kindness is a universal language. 
Here are three among many instances I have encountered kindness during my travels:

#1. A grab driver once drove me back to a restaurant when I left something. What I found striking is how he did it with a large smile and without charging extra. All we used to communicate were hand gestures.

#2. When another grab driver noticed that all my bags were open and without a lock, he said it was unsafe to have these types of bags in Vietnam. The following day, he lent me two of his back packs. All we used to communicate was google translate.

#3. We had a massage at a beach resort town called Mui Ne. My friend who was having a massage next to me gave a comment on how the massage gowns were pretty. I turned to look and my friend Cassie looked beautiful wearing them. I asked the manager of the spa if she could give it to my friend for free. She said yes. All we spent was Php 350 for a great massage, free water bottles and a free night gown. 10/10

Nothing profound about this post, my only purpose was to reminisce the many times strangers in other countries have done me good.

I wish there was more I could say to strangers than a simple “thank you”, knowing I may never see them again.

I bet you’re now asking the question:“How do I get strangers to be that kind to me?”
Just smile, use body language, expect them to be good, and do the same in return.

Leave a comment